ROMFAN REVIEWS HOLIDAY BLOG HOP!

December 16, 2011

When Annette at RomFan Reviews asked me to write about a favorite holiday memory, my first thought was that I don’t really have any. Sure, we always celebrated Christmas when I was growing up. And, yeah, with six kids, a mom and a dad, and assorted animals, life in our house was hectic on the most routine of days, which Christmas certainly was not. But special memories?

I suppose I could talk about the Christmas when I was six and realized there was no such thing as Santa Claus. It wasn’t a particular shock to me. I was just standing there looking at the huge (in my eyes) tree and I knew. No Santa. But, hey, as along as I got the giant ballerina doll in her pink tutu, what did I care where it came from?

And then there’s the Christmas when I was fifteen, when I really wanted an archery set. Not some cheapo kids’ bow and arrow toy, but the real thing with metal tipped arrows and a bow with some serious draw. I thought for sure my parents had blown me off, but, no. At the last minute, my dad brought out this long box wrapped in candy cane striped paper, and I knew even without opening it what it was. I mean, really, what else could it be? But the best part of that memory is how I went on to win my high school’s all-school archery championship in the Spring. Apart from the obvious reason why that’s a good thing, there was a more subtle motivation at work. My older sister and her friends were all the girl jocks of the school. They took all the spots on the girls’ athletic teams and, let me tell you, they played for blood. So, I can’t tell you how pissed off they were when I beat all of them to win that championship. And the fact that I was the younger sister of one of their own just added salt to the wound. Sweet!

Ahem, okay, so back to the holiday spirit and all that. There was the midnight mass I went to with my sister and her fiancé (different sister) when I was twenty or so. I was already disillusioned with the church, but there’s something magical about a midnight mass with its pageantry and, especially, the choir. The sound of human voices raised in song is one of my very favorite things.

And then there’s all the wonderful holidays spent skiing with my darling husband. The sunshine (usually) and cold air as you zoom (more or less gracefully) down the slopes, stopping for lunch at a picnic table at base, thawing out at the end of the day with martinis and good food. And then waking up the next morning and doing it all over again.

Yes, lots of memories over the years, some lovely, some drunken, many filled with love. But all in all, I gotta say, it’s the archery set … and my subsequent victory over the jock girls that stands out. Yep. That’s the one! (heh, heh)

Happy Holidays, everyone! And may all your holiday memories be victorious, er, joyful!

Comment below for a chance to win a copy of any one of my books, winner’s choice, in either print or Kindle format.

CONTEST ENDS AT MIDNIGHT, DECEMBER 23rd! YOU MUST PUT A CONTACT EMAIL ADDRESS IN YOUR COMMENT, SO YOU CAN BE NOTIFIED IF YOU WIN.

DBR

29 Responses to “ROMFAN REVIEWS HOLIDAY BLOG HOP!”

  1. johnny king Says:

    hi mrs reynolds i,m so damn tired of filling out apps to win a gift are a giveaway i forgot i,ve have never won a damn thing in my life. i did not even get a christmas food basket, i would be happy to be able just to have someone instead of being alone thats whats killing me . sorry .just depressed. anyway all my family and friends are dead.

  2. pagaan Says:

    DB,

    Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

    I’m lovin’ the books and am waiting anxiously for another vignette, blog post or maybe an excerpt from ‘Lucas’??? 😉 Come on, puhleeeaasee? for Christmas? 🙂

    Pagaan

  3. SharonS Says:

    That is so cool about the archery championship! I took archery at camp when I was 15 and it tore the bejezzeses out of my inner arm yeah, I sucked. But it was fun. Now I kick butt at it on the Wii.

    If I win I will have to flip a coin to decide which book to choose! Thanks!

  4. Sydney Says:

    I was worried when i moved far away from family and friends i would be lonely & sad but all my wonderful life memories are with me and still make me smile and laugh..

  5. Rebecca V. Says:

    I loved your archery story it brought tears to my eyes and the fact that you won the championship was icing on the cake! It’s always nice to hear personal stories from my favorite authors it makes you more “real” in my head. I’ve followed your stories from the beginning all on my Kindle and simply adore them!
    You also send out one of the better blogs that are out there and that’s an enjoyment! Merry Christmas!!

  6. tammy Says:

    Thank you for sharing. Happy Holidays!

  7. Jenn C Says:

    Love it! The victorious Christmas wins hands down! And wait… What do you mean there’s no Santa?!?!? ;). Thanks for the contest!!! heyjenn (at) earthlink (dot) net.

  8. Victoria Zumbrum Says:

    I would love to read your books. They all sound very good. I love paranormal. Please enter me in contest.Tore923@aol.com

  9. Linda Says:

    Merry Christmas ! Love your books waiting for your next book I must say Duncan was great thinking of reading it again . Thanks for your Christmas story .

  10. Cathy M Says:

    What great Christmas memories, DB. I’ve been lucky enough to have always lived close to assorted family, so our holidays are filled with some very special memories. Most of my favorite’s include my kids, who are now adults. I proudly display all their hand made ornaments and gifts every year and we still laugh about those way too early Christmas mornings with me and the video camera, filiming their run down the stairs and those delighted expressions as they dive into the presents.

    Happy Holidays to you and yours. Hope Santa brings you every thing on your list.

    caity_mack at yahoo dot com

  11. Marilyn Adam Says:

    First, you can send that gorgeous guy wrapped in blue paper my way for Christmas…….okay, so my favorite memory from Christmas: I was about ten and all I wanted for a gift was a suitcase of my own. Don’t know why – we never went anywhere I could use one. (Dreams of wanderlust maybe??) Anyway, there was no gift under the tree that looked remotely like what I dreamed of getting. Suddenly, we heard jingle bells loudly rattling outside the house. I ran to the door, and there on the steps was a shiny, new suitcase! Of course, the story was that Santa brought it but I was on to that. It was the best gift I ever received, and I went on to have a decades long career in travel (still do).
    Merry Christmas! Marilyn Adam cruisrdg@sbcglobal.net

  12. Tracey D Says:

    I have some great memories and some not-so-great! But overall the great ones will always stay in my heart.

    I wish all a safe and fun-filled holiday season.

    Thanks for the contest.

    Tracey D
    booklover0226 at gmail dot com

  13. Vicki Dall Says:

    I received a kindle for my 42nd b-day. A lover of Twilight, I thought to read some vampire stories. I stumbled on Raphael. Almost didn’t buy it except you commented that your vamps will linger in your mind long after the books ending. I’m hooked!!! I loved all your books. Raj being my fave. I counted the days and religiously read your blog till Duncan. I can’t find a book that compares to ur style. Thank you for being you.

  14. Patricia Garrett Says:

    Merry Christmas everyone! Thanks, D.B., for the stories you write. They take my imagination on adventures I wouldn’t dream of telling my husband about. 🙂

  15. Bea Bolt Says:

    My favorite holiday memory was of a holiday party I went to where some of the guys tied on of their friends to a tree in the yard outside because he wanted to drive and was too drunk. When he calmed down 20 minutes later they untied him and drove him home. The party host kept his car and keys till the next day when he then returned them. Thank goodness he has since quit drinking but when we remind him of hid “Time Out” he admits that he was glad he finally realized he had a problem and quit drinking.

  16. Sherri Says:

    I love your story about the archery set. Funny how those things in our childhood affect us. 😉

    I’ve only had the opportunity to read Raphael and I enjoyed it immensely. Thanks for the opportunity to win the next in line!

    Happy Holidays to everyone and here’s hoping to more great mremories.

    Sherri – urbangirlreader(at)gmail(dot)com

  17. sylviehansen Says:

    Hi DB! I loved you archery story. My favorite memory is also from high school. After taking ice skating lessons for over a year, I finally got my own skates! Unlike you, I didn’t go on to win any championships (no triple axel/triple lutz combos for me!). I was just thankful not to have to wear the rink’s sweaty old rental skates any more!

    No need to enter me in the contest. Just wanted to say HI.

  18. June M. Says:

    Oh, so young to stop believing in Santa! I laugh at my niece (almost 17 now). Even after she found out that there was no Santa, she would hear sleigh bells in the middle of the night and get up. I think last year was the first year that I know she did not do this. I think a little part of her still believes, lol.

    I hope you have a wonderful and safe holiday season!
    June M.
    manning_j2004 at yahoo .com

  19. Connie Moore Says:

    Love the stories. It is always interesting to hear other people’s Christmas memories. My mom is visiting for the holidays and she asked me last night what my favorite memory was. I had to rack my brain to come up with one from my childhood and not one from my own children’s Christmases. Merry Christmas D.B. to you and your family.
    Connie Moore
    cemour@verizon.net

  20. bookattict Says:

    Happy Holidays & thanks for the giveaway!

    elizabeth@bookattict.com

  21. donnas Says:

    Great post. Thanks for sharing and Happy Holidays!!

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

  22. Julie Says:

    Happy holidays! I hope this Christmas brings eveyone great memories as well!

    I can’t wait to have some down time to enjoy a few great books!

    jewel_smile_4ever AT hotmail DOT com

  23. Tracey Says:

    I LOVE RAPHAEL!!!
    Happy Holidays. And all of my gifts are bagged too!

  24. Victoria M Says:

    I have not started wrapping either! Hope you have a great Christmas!

  25. Anzu Says:

    I have to still get some presents! So you are way ahead but since I got this week free I’ll catch up on some much needen shopping. 😉

    Happy Holidays!

    Anzumerlin(at)mail(dot)ru

  26. cky15 Says:

    cky15: am looking for some new authors to add to my list of books to purchase.
    I am glad to see you here so that I can see what stories you have.
    Thanks for the giveaway.

    cwall88atyahoodotcom

  27. Sydney Says:

    My Motto this year..give gift cards or better yet Books.. then i have more time to read and relax in really enjoy the quiet moments of a good read ! Yea

  28. Freida Says:

    I’m reading Sophia and just loving it!!! I ordered Ducan as soon as it came out and its just sitting on my Kindle waiting for me! Love, love, love all your books…keep it up!
    appygirl35@aol.com


Comments are closed.

