AND SO THE NEW YEAR BEGINS!

January 9, 2012

This will be the first real work week of the New Year for a lot of people. Most kids went back to school last week. One lovely teenage relative of mine even had to go back to school last Monday, which hardly seems fair. It’s not the students’ fault that there was a freakishly early snowstorm on Halloween! And a pop quiz on top of it? That’s cruel and unusual!

But for many of us, this week marks the official return to the routines of life. No holidays, no days off, no last few days of winter vacation. Just the long wait for Spring. Used to be the months between the winter and spring holidays really dragged, but TPTB have inserted a couple of one day holidays in there to lighten the wait for those of us in the U.S. Still, it seems like a long cheerless slog until summer.

But not if you’re a lover of my vampires! (cool transition, huh?) I’ve been working on my Vignettes anthology this week. Volume 1 and very exciting. This first anthology will include all of the Vignettes posted so far, plus a couple of brand new and much longer ones that you won’t see anywhere else. I’ve seen the cover concept and it’s gorgeous, plus I’ve now revised and finalized all of the stories, except for a few final touches on the the very last Vignette, which is Raj and Sarah’s wedding story. As can be expected, not everything goes as smoothly as one might wish! After all, where would be the story in that?

The Anthology is expected to release on Valentine’s Day (naturally) and should be available in both e-format and print, although obviously the e-format will be much less expensive. Also, it’s expected to release for all of the e-platforms. Details will follow as we get closer to the event, and I’ll post the beautiful cover as soon as it’s finalized.

I’ve also been working on the launch of my new blog site. That’s been slowed to a crawl by my darling husband’s recent illness. I’ve had to prioritize, and obviously, he comes first (and pretty much second through tenth, too.) But after that, I’ve had to choose writing over blog prep, so work on the new site has been all but non-existent for the last few weeks.

I want to thank everyone who sent wishes and prayers for my DH’s quick recovery. It’s been a stressful and exhausting time, for him more than anyone else, but we’ve made it through and I’ve hopes he’ll be coming home for good this week. Gotta get the guy back home and fatten him up a bit! Hospitals are bad for your health.

In other news, Night Owl Reviews gave DUNCAN 5 of 5 stars and named him a Top Pick this last week.

This is the fifth book in the Vampires in America series; while you can read this as a stand-alone, I highly, highly recommend you read all the books in the series. Reynolds’ writing style is smooth and packs one heckuva punch.

In more exciting news, DUNCAN made a couple of top ten (or six) lists for 2011. Stephanie at Paranormal Haven included DUNCAN on her list for Favorite Books of 2011 …

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, PNR fans must give this series a try. It has a ‘real’ feel to it and the writing is fantastic. Duncan has been one of my favorite characters since book one and I was very happy with how his story was told. One of the best installments and again, I highly recommend this series!

And Dot at La Deetda Reads puts DUNCAN on her list of Best Reads of 2011.

And last but definitely not least, Were Vamp Romance is still running my interview and giveaway. This event got lost in the hospital shuffle, but the contest is still open through today, so please stop by, read my brilliant interview and take a chance on winning any one of my books, winner’s choice, in either print or Kindle format, unless you choose Heart of the Wolf, which is only available in the various e-formats.

And I think that’s it for me this week. Hopefully next week I’ll be back to say my DH is happily home and getting fat, and I’ve finished the Vignettes and moved on to the new Cyn/Raphael novella. Another first for my vampires and very exciting!

See you next week!

DBR

7 Responses to “AND SO THE NEW YEAR BEGINS!”


  1. There was never a doubt that DUNCAN would make my “top reads of 2011″ list. I’m totally enthralled with Vampires in America. (are they the ones doing the enthralling? You gotta watch those vampires.)

    I look forward to the Anthology, those vignettes are so-o-o HOT! Also can’t wait for the Cyn and Raphael novella, whoo-whoo! Lets not forget LUCAS, when is that bad boy gonna make the scene?

    I’m happy to hear that your DH is getting better and coming home soon. Keeping him in my prayers.

  2. michele Says:

    Obviously, they are all correct. L-O-V-E-D Duncan and I can’t wait for more. I read about 2-3 books a week (don’t sleep much) but I finished Duncan in one sitting. Please send more!!!

  3. NanaVamp Says:

    I call upon my V in A when I’m stressed or sitting on the pity potty. I reread. Especially Duncan.

  4. Stephanie G Says:

    So glad to hear your DH is doing better.

    Can’t wait for your anthology. Being able to read your vignettes any time wll be great. I’ll definitely need to buy a print copy (and one of Duncan) for my shelf :-)


  5. So glad Roman in doing better!

  6. Jenn Says:

    Hope your husband gets better soon! I will keep him in my prayers. So excited for the anthology and I am beyond excited for the Cyn and Raphael Novella. YEEEEESSSSSS! My Birthday is Feb 28th so I will have a GREAT gift for my 40th :) Hope you have a better week. Hospitals are NO fun :(

  7. sylviehansen Says:

    I’m so glad your husband is doing better. I send my hopes and wishes for his continued recovery.

    Yay, a collection of vignettes! I can’t think of a yummier Valentine’s Day read! Can’t wait!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 454 other followers

